Tulsa Cocaine Possession Attorney
Possession of cocaine is a serious crime in Oklahoma. Our state has some of the strictest laws related to cocaine possession in the nation. If you are convicted in Oklahoma of possession of cocaine for the first time, you can and will most likely be charged with a felony. In Oklahoma the first time possession of cocaine carries from 2 – 10 years in prison and a possible $5,000 fine. A repeat offender would be looking at 4 – 20 years in prison and a maximum fine of $20,000.
Intent to sell or distribute cocaine is treated as a serious offense, often with serious time up to life imprisonment. In order to be found guilty of distribution charges, police must have hard evidence that you had intent to distribute the cocaine. Despite cocaine laws, police and law enforcement may bend the rules and conduct an illegal search and seizure to get a distribution conviction. Remember that you have rights. Police are not allowed to search your person, car, or home without probable cause or your consent.
Joe Norwood has experience working with illegal controlled substance cases and has helped clients charged with the possession of cocaine avoid jail time and pay reduced fines.